Thursday , 2 April 2020
Home / Politics / Presidency, police plotting to implicate our leaders -APC

Presidency, police plotting to implicate our leaders -APC

All Progressives Congress has raised the alarm over alleged plot by the Presidency and the Police to slam trumped-up charges against its

leaders in Ekiti State

In a statement by the State Director of Media and Publicity, Mr. Segun Dipe, the party said there were strong indications that “a special squad

of top police officers from Abuja had arrived Ekiti to put APC leaders out of circulation ahead of the June 21 governorship election in the state.”

APC said the move was an outcome of a meeting held at the Ekute,

Ado-Ekiti home of a chieftain of the Peoples Democratic Party (name


The allegation followed the June 8 brawl between the Police and the

APC supporters in Ado-Ekiti which led to the death of one Taiwo


The statement said, “As a prelude, the Commissioner for Integration

and Inter-governmental Affairs, Mr. Funminiyi Afuye, a lawyer, was

assaulted and whisked away to Abuja on a trumped-up charge of

shooting Taiwo Akinola, while attempting to absolve the alleged culprit,

OC Mopol Gabriel Selenkere.

“Top on the list of those to be arrested on false charges as stumbled

upon include the interim Chairman of APC, Chief Jide Awe; and the Chief

of Staff to the Governor, Yemi Adaramodu.”

Others listed are Richard Apolola (Sikira)from Ekiti South-West Local

Government, Hon Sunday Ibitoye, Niyi Adedipe, Tope Olanipekun

(Tugere) and Rotimi Olambiwonu (Mentilo) from Ado Local

Government; Otunba Femi Olanrewaju (Ijakoko) and Peter Oladosu

(Erinmoje) from Ido/Osi Local Government and Speaker of Ekiti State

House of Assembly, Dr. Adewale Omirin from Gbonyin Local


APC said PDP had also listed 12 persons for arrest from Irepodun/

Ifelodun, the local government of the PDP governorship candidate, Mr.

Ayo Fayose.

The party gave the list to include a member of the House of Assembly,

Olurotimi Odu; Oladipupo Ige and former Deputy Speaker, Taiwo

Olatunbosun, all from Igbemo-Ekiti; Col Babatunde Oluwayose and

Kayode Akinyemi from Afao-Ekiti, Fayose’s home town; Peter Adekunle

(Mayegun) and Ojo Olanipekun (Siron) from Are-Ekiti while Kayode Ojo,

Femi Aluko and Tayo Egunlusi from Iworoko-Ekiti are also on the list.

Caroline Egunlusi and Thomas Ajewole from Eyio/Esure are to be

seized few hours to the election.

But when contacted, the Ekiti Police Public Relations Officer, Mr. Victor

Babayemi, said the allegation is “spurious and unfounded.”

He said, “The allegation of keeping some people out of circulation being

leveled against the police is one of many calculated attempts of

politicians to gag the police and prevent it from performing its statutory

duty and undermine the commendable work of its personnel all in the

name of politics.

“However, criminals bent on causing trouble in the state will be hunt

down and brought to justice no matter the status or political affiliation,”

he added.

AmarSim Associations Development Consultants

Check Also

COVID-19: PDP Demands Eminent Nigerians Group to Manage Palliatives

 …Makes Case for Cab drivers, Farmers, Artisans, Traders, Others The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) calls …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *