Monday , 9 December 2019
Home / News / Taraba Speaker, Deputy Impeached

Taraba Speaker, Deputy Impeached

The Speaker, Taraba State House of Assembly, Mr. Istifanus Gbana and his Deputy, Mr. Abel Diah were yesterday impeached over alleged financial misappropriation.

The Majority leader, Mr. Charles Maijankai was also impeached for the same offence.

The impeachment was conveyed by Mr. Kizito Bonzena, a member representing Zing constituency, saying that 17 out of the 24 members were present on the floor of the House.

Mr. Joseph Albasu, a member representing Lau, who moved the motion, alleged that Gbana had diverted the lawmakers allowance amounting to N9 million.

He said the speaker had not only incited disunity amongst the members but was also guilty of abuse of office.

The motion was later seconded by a member representing Sardauna constituency, Dr. Abubakar Jugulde.

Nigerian Pilot Recall that Gbana had survived about seven impeachment attempts since his re-election in 2011.

Meanwhile, the state Assembly has elected Mr. Haruna Tsokwa, a member representing Takum1 and Alhaji Haruna Maikarfi of Gassol as speaker and deputy speaker respectively.

The election followed a motion moved by Dr. Abubakar Jugulde of Sardauna and was seconded by Hamman Abdullah representing Bali constituency.

In his inaugural speech, Tsokwa commended the members of the house for giving him “an opportunity to serve the house”.

He said he would do justice to all the members and promised not to betray the trust reposed on him.

Other new executives of the house include Mr. Albasu Kunini of Karim Lamido  as Majority leader, Mohammadu Gwampo of Yorro constituency and Josiah Kente of Wukari as Chief whip and Deputy Majority leader respectively.

AmarSim Associations Development Consultants

Check Also


 BY SIMEON NWAKAUDU For twenty straight years, Rivers State Governor,  Nyesom Ezenwo Wike has played …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *