Thursday , 14 November 2019
Home / breaking news / FG Okays Governing Boards For NUC, WAEC, 18 Others

FG Okays Governing Boards For NUC, WAEC, 18 Others

President Goodluck Jonathan has approved the composition and appointments of the chairmen and members of the governing boards of 20 federal government parastatals and agencies.

In a statement signed by Anyim Pius Anyim, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, membership of each governing board shall include all the institutional members in accordance with the enabling law of the parastatal/ agency.

According to the statement, some of the parastatal and agency and their chairmen of the governing boards are Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University Teaching Hospital, Bauchi with Maj.- Gen Barau Said (rtd) as chairman, also, National Ear Hospital, Kaduna with Dr Mrs Abisola Clark as chairman.

Others are National Obstetrics Fistula Centre, Abakaliki, with Mrs Josephine  Elechi as chairman, National Universities Commission (NUC) with Senator Ahmadu Ali as chairman, National Open University of Nigeria with Sen. Ameh Ebute as chairman, National Board for Technical Education with Mrs. Yejide Ogundipe as chairman, Federal Polytechnic, Bali, Niger State with Col. Theophilus Bamigboye (rtd) as chairman.

Also the Federal Polytechnic, Birnin – Kebbi with Adamu Maina Waziri as chairman, Federal Polytechnic, Bali, Taraba State with Pastor Yusuf Alfa as chairman, Federal Polytechnic, Kazaure with Senator (Engr) Onyema Okoroafor as chairman, Federal Polytechnic, Oko, Anambra State with Dr. Christian Azubuike Odukwe as chairman, Federal Polytechnic, Ekowe, Bayelsa State with Mr. Bekeakpo Etifa as chairman.

The rest are Federal College of Education (Tech) Gusau with Hon Bala Ka’oje as chairman, National Broadcasting Commission with Dr. Herbert Orji as chairman, Nigerian Press Council with Chief Yinka Akintola as chairman, Nigerian Centre for Metallurgical Development with Hon. John Ikemefuna as chairman, West African Examination Council with Professor Tunde Adeniran as chairman, Teacher’s Registration Council with Prof Greg Iwu as chairman, National Council for Arts and Culture with Professor Nelson Branbayefa as chairman and National Centre for Women Development with Chief Dr. Mrs Becky Ketebu-Igwe as chairman

According to the statement, the dates for the formal inauguration of the governing boards will be announced in due course by the supervising authorities and ministers.

Also in a statement signed by the special assistant on media to the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Sam Nwaobasi, President Jonathan approved the re-appointment of Dr. Aminu Sharehu as director of The National Teachers Institute Kaduna (NTI) with effect from February 1, 2013;

Also, Engr. Habu Gumel as Executive Secretary/ Chief Executive officer of the National Lottery Trust Fund for a second  and final tenure of four years, with effect from December 1, 2013 and Mrs Taiwo Theresa Akande as the Rector of Federal Polytechnic Ado Ekiti for a second and final tenure of four years , with effect from December 19, 2013.

AmarSim Associations Development Consultants

Check Also

NWC under Oshiomhole biased, says Edo APC

The All Progressives Congress(APC) in Edo State has rejected the action of the National Working …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *