Monday , 22 April 2019
Home / Politics / APC Excluded As INEC Publishes Names Of Rivers National Assembly Candidates

APC Excluded As INEC Publishes Names Of Rivers National Assembly Candidates

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the names of candidates for the National Assembly election in Rivers State.
The names of the candidates were revealed on Thursday in a list signed by INEC secretary, Rose Orianran-Anthony.
However, the names of the candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) were excluded from the list.
Candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Social Democratic Party (SDP), and Labour Party among others made the list.
The Resident Electoral Commissioner in Rivers, Obo Effanga, insisted that the electoral umpire would always obey court judgements.
INEC published the names 29 days to the general elections.
On Monday last week, a Federal High court in Port Harcourt, the state capital nullified the direct and indirect primaries conducted by the two factions of the APC in Rivers.
The court presided over by Justice Kolawole Omotosho held that both primaries were not conducted according to the law.
Justice Omotosho had also restrained the electoral body from recognising Tonye Cole and Magnus Abe as governorship candidates of the APC in the general elections.
Senator Abe was declared the winner of a direct governorship primary conducted by a faction of the party in 2018 after polling 144, 929 votes.
But Cole emerged the winner of an indirect primary held by another faction with 3,329 votes.

AmarSim Associations Development Consultants

Check Also

How my successor will emerge, by Dickson

Bayelsa State Governor, Seriake Dickson, at the weekend said his successor would not come from …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *