Monday , 17 June 2019
Home / featured post / S’East, S’South govs meet on unity

S’East, S’South govs meet on unity

ENUGU— Seven of the 11 governors of the South-East and South-South states rose, yesterday, from their meeting in Enugu, with a pledge to ensure economic co-operation and unity among the two geo-political zones.

Four governors, including those of Rivers, Edo, Akwa-Ibom and Imo, were absent and were not represented.
However, those present also reiterated their commitment to the success of President Goodluck Jonathan’s government.

Governor Liyel Imoke of Cross River State, who briefed newsmen after the meeting, said that the two zones have agreed to foster economic cooperation towards the development of the two regions. He did not give further details.
It was learnt that the governors discussed common areas of agreement to be presented by the two zones to the National Conference Committee.

Those present at the meeting included Governors Liyel Imoke (Cross River), Emmanuel Uduaghan (Delta), Peter Obi (Anambra), Theodore Orji (Abia) and Sullivan Chime (Enugu).

The governors of Bayelsa and Ebonyi were represented by their deputies.

AmarSim Associations Development Consultants

Check Also

Nigeria becoming a failed state — Moghalu 

 The presidential candidate of Young Progressives Party, YPP, in the last presidential election, Professor Kingsley …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *